ApolloMD Announces 2019 EM Residency Scholarship Winner

2nd Annual Emergency Medicine Scholarship

ATLANTA, Ga. (July 10, 2019) – ApolloMD, a multispecialty physician, APC and practice management services group, is honored to announce the recipient of the second annual ApolloMD Emergency Medicine Scholarship, Jana Florian, MD.

“The work our young physician colleagues do is absolutely incredible – the challenge of balancing long hours early in your career as a physician can be exhausting and exhilarating. Our hope is to develop and expand this scholarship program as a way to pay it forward. We want physicians to pursue their passion in the clinical practice of emergency medicine,” said Yogin Patel, MD, ApolloMD President. “ApolloMD’s goal is to reward young physicians for their focus on providing top-quality care to the communities they serve.”

Dr. Florian received her bachelor’s degree from the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor. She received her medical degree from Boston University School of Medicine in Massachusetts. Dr. Florian is currently a first-year resident with the Department of Emergency Medicine at the University of California, Irvine.

She credits the ‘creators and doers’ of her family for her ambitious spirit, something she believes is the driving force of her interest in emergency medicine. Dr. Florian is passionate about using continuing education, simulation and

advocacy to improve clinical skills and patient care in this everchanging, extraordinarily broad medical specialty. She’s demonstrated these passions, as well as her leadership skills, through the development of elective curricula, simulation labs and student organizations at BUSM.

Dr. Florian was the driving force and creator of an emergency medicine mini-bootcamp, an interactive, simulation-based curriculum to prepare fourth-year medical students for emergency

medicine residency programs. She created the first fourth-year clinical elective offering trainees the opportunity to provide care in the Massachusetts State Prison System in order to better understand prison healthcare and the unique needs of incarcerated patients. Dr. Florian served as a founding member of Bridging Gaps in Care, a mobile student organization focused on offering free educational workshops to residents of Boston neighborhoods about common chronic health conditions.

Additionally, she served as a class representative on the Appropriate Treatment in Medicine Committee and as a peer advisor for first and second-year medical students. Dr. Florian also collaborates with a team of physicians, nurses and students who use simulation to assess and improve resident preparedness to care for critically ill pediatric patients.

In addition to her leadership roles and extracurricular commitments, she is an active member of the American College of Emergency Physicians and the Emergency Medicine Residents Association. Dr. Florian has been honored by a number of reputable organizations including:
  • Society of Academic Emergency Medicine, Excellence in Emergency Medicine Award
  • Emergency Medicine Residents Association, Simulation Research Award
  • Boston University School of Medicine, Anthony L. F. Gorman Prize in Physiology
  • Boston University School of Medicine, Elizabeth K. Moyer Award in Gross Anatomy

“As a new emergency medicine physician, this award is a wonderful privilege to support me as I enter a chapter in my training full of big changes, growth and learning,” said Dr. Florian. “Thank you for recognizing and cheering on the next generation of emergency medicine trainees. The magic of this specialty is it is a team effort. I am very grateful for the people on the front lines and behind the scenes who see us and show up with us every day.”

Applicants are required to be in good standing with a US allopathic or osteopathic medical school, as well as pursuing a career in Emergency Medicine. Candidates must also be participating in the National Resident Matching Program (NRMP). Other determining factors include scholarly achievements, leadership and membership involvement with accredited medical societies/organizations and philanthropic commitments.

According to the Association of American Medical Colleges, approximately 75 percent of medical school students in the class of 2018 graduated with student loan debt. In 2018, the average medical school graduate incurred approximately $196,500 in student loans. ApolloMD intends to lessen the financial burden for one outstanding resident each year.

“At ApolloMD we know the future of healthcare lies in the hands of dedicated resident physicians who work hard to learn the practice of medicine,” said Michael Dolister, MD, ApolloMD Chief Executive Officer. “We hope by offering this annual scholarship we can reduce a small portion of the financial burden for years to come.”

The 2020 scholarship application will open Jan. 1 with a deadline of June 15. For information, or to apply for the 2020 year, visit apollomd.com.

About ApolloMD

ApolloMD is a physician and advance practice clinician led and operated multispecialty practice partnering with top hospitals, teaching facilities and health systems across the country to provide Emergency Medicine, Hospital Medicine, Anesthesia and Radiology services. Our physicians and APCs provide quality care for more than 3.9 million patients each year and enjoy a rewarding practice setting with control over their schedules, top income, leadership training and diverse career paths. Our clinical partners operate with local autonomy backed by the support, security and resources of a national group. In addition, ApolloMD physicians and APCs are offered ownership options through our ApolloMD Partners, Inc. program, allowing them to build equity in a thriving group from day one. Learn more about our growing team and view current clinical opportunities at apollomd.com.

  • Categories


  • Tags

  • ACEP ACEP19 ACEP 2019 ACEP Scientific Assembly ACEP Section of Careers in Emergency Medicine Longevity Award advanced practice clinician American College of Emergency Physicians anesthesia APC apcs ApolloMD Leadership Conference Atlanta Award awards Booth career CEO chest pain Clinical Career Clinical Careers Clinical Education clinical leadership Clinician clinicians cme CMS conference coronavirus COVID-19 critical care Director of the Year doctor documentation educational series Em Emergency Department Emergency Medicine Emergency Medicine Resident Scholarship EMRA EM Resident Association EM Residents EMS Exhibit Hall Exhibitor Finance Finances guide Guide to Thrive hospital Hospital Medicine independent contractor Independent Contractor Benefits Independent Contractor Incentives Independent Contractor Physician interview Interview Tips job lead APC Lead APC of the Year leadership Leadership Conference LWBS Match Day Match Week medical director Medical Student MIPS MIPS Measure MIPS Score News ownership PA pain management Pandemic patient experience patient experience coordinator patient satisfaction performance-based compensation Phyisicans physician Physician Associate Physician Jobs Physicians physician services PQRS pregnancy profiles of courage quality recruiting Residency residency scholarship resident salary Scholarship Scholarship Application sepsis telehealth vaccine W2 Wellness