em scholarship for residents

In recognition of National Emergency Medicine Residents’ Appreciation Day, ApolloMD is pleased to announce the 4th Annual ApolloMD Emergency Medicine Scholarship for Residents is accepting applications now through Tuesday, June 15. The recipient will be announced in August.

“We built this annual scholarship to pay it forward to the young physicians pursuing a career in emergency medicine. We aim to support this chapter of growth by making a small financial contribution to one outstanding resident each year,” said Yogin Patel, MD, ApolloMD President.

Applicants are required to be in good standing with a US allopathic or osteopathic medical school, as well as pursuing a career in Emergency Medicine. Candidates must also be participating in the National Resident Matching Program (NRMP) or currently training in an Emergency Medicine Residency Program. Other qualifying factors include scholarly achievements, leadership or membership involvement with accredited medical societies and organizations and philanthropic commitments. These qualifications should be submitted in the application and essay process.

We’ve been proud to contribute to three incredible physicians’ journeys over the last three years.

Meet our 2020, 2019 and 2018 scholarship recipients:

2020 | Dr. Bassam Zahid

Dr. Bassam Zahid received his bachelor’s degree from Boston College in Massachusetts and his medical degree from Meharry Medical College in Nashville, Tennessee.

“I am sincerely honored and thrilled to have been selected as the recipient of the ApolloMD Emergency Medicine Scholarship,” said Dr. Zahid. “Thank you, ApolloMD, for your generosity. It not only inspires me to continue striving toward excellence as an emergency medicine physician, but also challenges me to work harder and dream even bigger as I step forward into building my career.”

Dr. Zahid is completing his final residency program year with the Stony Brook University Department of Emergency Medicine in Stony Brook, NY.

2019 | Dr. Jana Florian

scholarship for residentsDr. Jana Florian received her bachelor’s degree from the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor. She received her medical degree from Boston University School of Medicine in Massachusetts.

“As a new emergency medicine physician, this award is a wonderful privilege to support me as I enter a chapter in my training full of big changes, growth and learning,” said Dr. Florian. “Thank you for recognizing and cheering on the next generation of emergency medicine trainees. The magic of this specialty is that it is a team effort. I am very grateful for the people on the front lines and behind the scenes who see us and show up with us every day.”

2018 | Dr. Loren Touma

scholarship for residentsDr. Loren Touma received her bachelor’s degree from the University of Central Florida in Orlando. She received her medical degree from William Carey University College of Osteopathic Medicine in Hattiesburg, Miss.

“I feel honored and humbled to be selected for the first ApolloMD Emergency Medicine Residency Scholarship. This scholarship will aid me in my journey towards becoming the best emergency medicine physician I can be,” said Touma. “In the future, my goal is to work in a leadership role as an advocate on behalf of the medical profession at both the grassroots and national level. As a hopeful emergency medicine resident, I look forward to incorporating my leadership skills and experience with the practice of medicine to support my peers and prospective patients.”


If you qualify for the scholarship, or are interested in learning more, click here.